David L. Squires Scholarship
Dedicated to the memory of David Squires.

David L. Squires Scholarship


David L. Squires was a staff member at the Memorial University of Newfoundland who was always willing to help worthwhile students.  David was also a hard working and very respected member of the Data Processing Management Association (DPMA). The Squires Foundation was created in honour of David L. Squires by his DPMA peers to help students.

The Squires Foundation was incorporated in 1994 to: 

  1. Promote excellence in the study of informatics by individuals;
  2. Conduct or sponsor research in informatics education; and
  3. Sponsor informatics educational offerings to the public


The Squires Foundation provides scholarships each year to students who: 

  1. demonstrate significant financial need;
  2. are Canadian Citizens OR Landed Immigrants;
  3. are in a full time Computer Science program at a University or College;
  4. have successfully completed 2 full semesters in this program; and,
  5. reached a high level of scholastic achievement. 

A student must meet all requirements to qualify.

Please be assured that financial and other confidential information will remain secure and used only for purposes of evaluating the scholarship applications. The student number is required to cross-check against student records at the educational institution. The social insurance number is required so that we may issue a T4A Tax Form in the event that you receive the award. In cases where physical documentary evidence is required, please indicate that you have the material and outline its general content. If you are selected as an award recipient based on the information you provide electronically, you will be asked to submit the physical evidence before the award will be issued. 

- John Sherrah, Scholarship Selection Committee

- David Calder, President of The David Squires Foundation 


John Sherrah – President

ITI International Technology Integration Inc.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Phone: (250) 595-8282


Apply Online

Thank you for your interest in the Squires Foundation!

Please be advised that applications for 2020 close at midnight PST on December 31, 2020. Applications received after this time will not be considered.

This year, the Squires foundation will award two (2 X $500) scholarships totaling $1000 from the applications received by the closing date and time. The committee will review the applications and contact the winners by January 31, 2021.

Thank you for your interest and best wishes in your studies.

If you meet all of the Eligibility Requirements, please fill out the application form.

If you have any other questions please contact us:

By E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

By Phone: (250) 595-8282


2020 Winners

To be announced.


Past Winners

2019 Winners

$500 winner – Seeratpal Jaura - University of Winnipeg

$500 winner – Jacob Kelley - University of Toronto


$500 winner - Ranim Aljoudi - University of Windsor

$500 winner - Darian Chen - University of Alberta


$500 winner – Jamie Koerner - University of British

$500 winner – Oladele Ojewole - University of Winnipeg


$750 winner – Amy Channing - Wilfred Laurier University

$750 winner – Eric Roberts - Vancouver Island University


$750 winner – Christina Chung – University of Toronto

$750 winner – Weige Zhao – University of Western Ontario


$750 winner - Susannah Kirby – UBC


$1000 winner - Alex Gagnon – Universitie’ de Sherbrooke

$1000 winner - Camera Lerner – University of Lethbridge


$1000 winner - Ilya Sharikov – Camosun College

$1000 winner - Jeremy Wheaton – Acadia University 


$1000 winner - John Wu Qiongzhi – Simon Fraser University

$1000 winner - Erin Sheridan – George Brown College 


$1000 winner - Peggy Lau – Simon Fraser University

$1000 winner - Brittany Barnett – Dalhousie University 


$1000 winner - Mr. Rami Aboushawish – University of Windsor

$1000 winner - Ms. Elaina Bindig - Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Science and Technology

$1000 winner - Ms. Elaine Reynolds - George Brown College

$1000 winner - Mr. John Doucette - Dalhousie University 


$1000 winner - Ms. Keisha Archibald – St. Marys University

$1000 winner - Ms. Negin Salahi - Simon Fraser University

$1000 winner - Mr. Allen Wallace - Camosun College

$1000 winner - Ms. Christie Wilson - British Columbia Institute of Technology 


$1000 winner - Mr. Ryan Strate – University of Alberta

$1000 winner - Mr. Mat Allen - University of New Brunswick

$1000 winner - Mr. Phil Abraham - University of Victoria 


$1200 winner - Mr. Joel Andrews – Camosun College

$1200 winner - Mr. Geoffrey Spears - Camosun College 


$1200 winner - Mr. Azim Lila – York University

$1200 winner - Mr. Michael Marganelli - British Columbia Institute of Technology 


$1200 winner - Ms. Shelly Christine Andrews – British Columbia Institute of Technology

$1200 winner - Ms. Fazilah Remu – University of Victoria

$1200 winner - Mr. Ryan M. Graham - British Columbia Institute of Technology 


$1000 winner - Mr. Yao-Nan Chu - Simon Fraser University

$1000 winner - Ms. Katherin Alexanterian - Simon Fraser University 


$1000 winner - Ms. Karen Bertram - Northern Alberta Institute of Technolgy

$1000 winner - Mr. John M. Parker - Memorial University of Newfoundland 


$500 winner - Ms. Sandy Pang - Simon Fraser University

$1000 winner - Ms. Adrienne Dick - Douglas College

$1000 winner - Mr. Craig Pastro - Simon Fraser University 


Christopher Collins - Memorial University of Newfoundland

Eveline Widjaya - University of Regina, Saskatchewan 


Rob Thorndyke - University of Victoria, British Columbia

Alan Barton - University of Victoria, British Columbia 


Colby Smith

$750 winner – Christina Chung – University of Toronto

$750 winner – Weige Zhao – University of Western Ontario